食品挑战

寻找解决快速增长的人口的温饱问题的可持续方法是当今世界面临的最紧迫的问题之一。

食品需求不断增长的缘由

全球人口预计将从2012年的70亿左右增加到2050年的96亿左右——食品需求量也将势必增加。 在满足食品需求的同时保护和发展农村经济、减少碳排放并防止进一步破坏脆弱的生态系统是一项重大挑战;考虑到复杂的外部形势,要实现这一目标更是难上加难。

食品价格达到创纪录的新高就是不利的形势之一,这是由中等收入国家需求不断增加、购买力增强等因素引起的。 同时,预计到2050年全球一半的人口增长将来自撒哈拉沙漠以南的非洲,这里已有四分之一的人口面临营养不良的问题,而且食品供应的安全性也是一个重大问题。

寻找解决方案

没有什么解决方案可以创造一个可持续的食品的未来。 解决食品缺口问题需要一系列战略,涉及政府、企业和范围广泛的其他利益相关者。 食品和饮料行业能够发挥重要作用,包括:

  • 提高食品生产的效率: 当前,将近四分之一的全球温室气体排放来源于农业,同时,取自河流、湖泊和含水层的淡水的70%使用于农业。 轮流耕作和覆盖植披、在退化土地上种植庄稼等技术可以帮助减轻对环境的影响。
  • 支持农民: 要解决食品短缺问题必须提高小农户的生产效率、改善他们的生活并建设可持续发展的农村经济。
  • 减少食品损失和浪费 生产供人类消费的食品热量的约四分之一被损失或浪费。 如果将这一比例降一半,2050年或许可以解决20%的食品短缺。

前进之路

没有简单的解决方案。 为实现联合国可持续发展目标下的减少饥饿目标,许多发展中国家已经采取措施着手解决不平等问题,包括为更多的人提供营养、医疗和教育服务。 通过提升较贫困人群的能力,特别是小农户的生产能力,他们增强了适应性,并都确保享受到了经济增长带来的实惠。

FOOD CHALLENGES

Finding sustainable ways to feed a fast-growing population is one of the most pressing development challenges facing the world today.

​​​​​​​Why demand for food is rising

The world population is projected to grow from around 7 billion in 2012 to around 9.6 billion by 2050 – and with this will come an increase in demand for food. Meeting this demand at the same time as protecting and strengthening rural economies, reducing emissions and preventing further damage to fragile ecosystems is a major challenge; and one that is made more difficult by a range of external circumstances.

These include the fact that food prices are at a record high, inflated by factors including growing demand – and increased purchasing power – in middle income countries. At the same time, more than half the population growth projected by 2050 is set to occur in sub-Saharan Africa, where more than a quarter of the population is already undernourished and security of food supply is a major challenge.

Finding a solution

There is no one solution that can create a sustainable food future. Closing the food gap requires a range of strategies, involving governments, businesses and a broad spectrum of other stakeholders. The food and drink industry has a significant part to play, including by:

  • Making food production more efficient: Currently, agriculture is the source of nearly a quarter of global greenhouse gas emissions and uses 70% of all freshwater taken from rivers, lakes and aquifers. Techniques such as crop rotation and mulching, and growing crops on degraded land, can help reduce environmental impact.
  • Supporting farmers: Closing the food gap depends on enhancing the productivity and livelihoods of smallholder farmers, and building sustainable rural economies.
  • Cutting food loss and waste: Around a quarter of food calories produced for human consumption are lost or wasted. Halving this rate could close the food gap by around 20% by 2050.

The way ahead

There is no simple solution. But many of the developing countries that are working to meet the hunger reduction target in the UN Sustainable Development Goals​ have taken steps to address inequalities, including by improving access to nutrition, healthcare and education. By building capacity among the poorer members of society – including in particular smallholder farmers – they increase resilience and ensure that everyone can share the benefits of economic growth.